Wednesday, 04 March 2015

@ORArodeo on Twitter

Remembering Layne Rembish-Stevens
Thursday, 26 February 2015 12:41

Layne StevensIt is with the deepest sympathies and sadness that we share the details for the celebration of life of Layne Rembish-Stevens, "Layney". Her beyond untimely passing continues to be something absolutely surreal, and this is one of the most difficult junctures in our Life as we reflect on hers.

Like a majority of our horse community, our relationship with the Stevens Family spans decades. Founding Teen Ranch and continuing to manage it through today, our paths have crossed in so many ways. From AQHA shows, roping jackpots and rodeos, to family members attending their Christian Sports Camp, to English shows, boarding horses there, trail rides, bonfires and more... we've spent a lot of time together. And often times the most consistent face we saw in our visits to Teen Ranch was of the beautiful blonde girl with the gorgeous smile, Layne. Her passions weren't complex to figure out. Her loves were her Mom & Family, Horses and the People surrounding them. Showing horses, jumping horses, racing horses... if horses were involved, she was every part of it. She could tell you who (horse and rider) had done what at any given point, and point out the good and the bad of their competition. She would be able to pull that off for almost everybody at an event. She was passionate about equestrian sport and all of the players in it.

And of course... her trademark was her smile. In her forever time capsuled moments in social media, you'll see picture after picture of her smiling... And in the pictures where she's not... You can tell it's every effort not to for that pose. We were there for a lot of the happy moments, but also there for some of the difficult ones; namely the injuries and the illnesses... And even in the toughest situations, she would always manage a smile, and ask about someone else.

She spent a lot of time in our Rodeo Arenas as a competitor in addition to cheering from the sidelines for her friends. She also contributed to the ORA's early social media presence; she has left her mark in our world and more importantly, our hearts.

Layne Rembish Stevens RodeoAs we reach out in these troubling days to share the news of her tragic passing, there are so many people that have said, "...but I was just talking to her!!..." and their stories are so similar. Helping one person find accommodation, giving inspiration and insight to another who was going through a similar injury that she had conquered, catching up about a horse show with another, and just plain saying 'hi'... that was Layne. We will never know why she was chosen at this time; there is always the saying, "God must have needed another (insert occupation or hobby here) in heaven..."; but you would have to think He had enough angels at the time, instead of calling one our living angels so soon.

Her spirit will forever remain with us... That love of Family, the passion for anything equine, and that constant up-lifting encouragement... through spoken word or a simple smile, though not as beautiful as Layne could make it... regardless of what one is going through, by taking the time to uplift others. In addition to the many great memories... that is her gift to us.

We share in this sorrow and extend our deepest condolences to the Stevens Family and extended communities that are grieving her loss.

Suddenly, at home on February 25, 2015 of Orangeville in her 26th year. Beloved daughter and best friend to Lee Stevens of Orangeville and Peter (Carol) Rembish of Calgary. Loving Granddaughter of Mel (Betty) Stevens of Orangeville and Earl(Gail) Rembish of Georgetown. Layne will be deeply missed by her brothers Dustin and Cody and her Aunts, Uncles and many cousins. The family will receive friends at Compass Community Church in Orangeville on Sunday, March 1st from 3-5 pm and 7-9 pm. Funeral service on Monday at 11am. In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions can be made to the Teen Ranch Foundation (Box 77, Caledon, ON L7K 3L3). Online condolences and tributes can be sent at Arrangements in trust to Fawcett Funeral Home, Flesherton, 888-924-2810;

ORA Awards Gala Tickets Now on Sale
Friday, 23 January 2015 00:59

ORA Awards Gala
Where: Quality Inn, Woodstock
When: Saturday March 28, 2015
Time: 7:00 dinner, awards and dance to follow
Ticket Price: $40.00 Adults, $20.00 Children 12 and under
Dinner: Buffet style
*cash bar*

Tickets can be purchased by emailing This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or online below.

Tickets can not be reserved and will only be considered sold when payment is received.

Tickets will NOT be sold at the door and there is a limited number so please get your tickets early. 

Hotel rooms are available by calling (519) 537-5586 and under the Group "Ontario Rodeo Association Banquet" for $104.99 plus tax a night. 

Purchase your tickets for the 2014 Ontario Rodeo Association Season Awards Gala (March 28, 2015) below, securely and simply using 
Once the transaction is approved, the purchaser will receive their printable tickets via email.

NYE Callbacks
Wednesday, 24 December 2014 01:46

Callbacks for NYE 2015 Reach Ranch Rodeo: Available here

NYE Results
Friday, 02 January 2015 23:01

Results from NYE's Reach Ranch Rodeo are available here.

2015 Ontario Finals Rodeo Announcement
Sunday, 14 December 2014 21:15

2015 Ontario Finals Rodeo
November 13, 14 & 15, 2015
Ancaster Fair Grounds
Ancaster, Ontario

To Our Members and Future Members,

The Ontario Rodeo Association would like to continue increasing membership and the growth of the Ontario Finals Rodeo. We are looking for people that may be interested in joining the Finals Committee. If you are interested please contact Jodi Pendry (519) 943 2405 This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Lets give all our members and future members a good reason to buy their ORA 2015 memberships!! Lets all get involved in continuing being THE BEST RODEO ASSOCIATION IN ONTARIO.

We need a really good catchy phrase for our finals for promotional purposes- please facebook or email ideas to Jodi Pendry. The person who comes up with the new OFR slogan will receive a Tim Hortons gift card. All entries have to be in to Jodi by March 1st.

Here are some potential ideas for 2015 ORA Finals

  • VIP area 
  • A nicely done up bar area 
  • candy/popcorn booth 
  • silent auction 
  • dummy roping competition 
  • tack swap

If anyone has any other idea's, contributions, connections please contact Jodi

Stay in touch to see a more new and improved ORA!!